Our Membership

Our members, or “sites”, are medical institutions equipped to perform clinical trials in Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) and motor neuron diseases. 

learn more

Coordinating Centers

NEALS research and training activities are managed from our two “Coordinating Centers”, located at Massachusetts General Hospital and Barrow Neurological Institute. The Coordinating Centers are responsible for the management and conduct of "NEALS-affiliated" trials. When a trial is considered to be "NEALS-affiliated", it means that the sponsor of the trial has contracted NEALS Coordinating Centers to help conduct the trial. A sponsor may contract NEALS to manage an entire trial or just a portion of the work.

learn more

NEALS Leadership

NEALS is governed by an Executive Committee made up of twelve members. Each member brings a depth of experience and a unique perspective to the governance of NEALS. Our research activities are also advised by an experienced Scientific Advisory Board.

  • Jinsy A. Andrews, MD, MSc Investigator Representative
  • Michael Weiss, MD Investigator Representative
  • Nazem Atassi, MD, MMSc Investigator Representative
  • Peggy Allred, PT, DPT Clinical Coordinator Representative
  • James Berry, MD, MPH Investigator Representative
  • Robert H. Brown, Jr. MD, DPhil Scientific Advisory Board Chair
  • Merit Cudkowicz, MD, MSc NEALS Coordinating Center Chair
  • Sara M. Feldman, PT, DPT, ATP Clinical Evaluator Representative
  • Jonathan D. Glass, MD Co-Chair
  • Terry Heiman-Patterson, MD Co-Chair
  • Timothy M. Miller, MD, PhD Scientific Advisory Board Chair
  • Jeffrey D. Rothstein, MD, PhD Scientific Advisory Board Chair
  • Jeremy Shefner, MD, PhD NEALS Outcomes/Monitoring Center Chair